Christ Church Cullenswood and graveyard on the Esk Highway, before St Marys on the East coast region of Tasmania. St Marys is a tiny town only 10 km from the island’s east coast and nestled under the impressive St Patrick’s Head, the most prominent rocky outcrop in the district. It is an area characterised by dramatic vistas, pleasant bushwalking and interesting, rugged terrain, particularly in the Douglas-Apsley National Park.
Located in the middle of paddocks about three kilometres west of St Marys, Christ Church was built in 1847 as part of the large property, ‘Cullenswood’, which had been built by Robert Vincent Legge in 1845 and located on Cornwall Road off the Esk Highway. Cullenswood, which is not open for inspection, is a handsome two storey rubblestone Georgian building with a columned veranda and iron-hipped roof.
This is a 12 Mega Pixel image shot and processed as HDR with 3 layers of texture blended to give a painterly effect.
High Dynamic Range tone mapped image from 12 Mega Pixel digital file Canon 5D.
This image was taken in 28 January 2009
Image size for download is 4186 px X 2785 px as TIFF or JPEG file.